History of the Mount Pisgah Baptist Church

A HEALTHY, VIBRANT church continuing the work of Jesus Christ!






The Beginning...........




Founded October 31, 1865
Name
South Hill Baptist Church of Bloomington
Approval
Recognition from the Council of Churches, as a colored Baptist Church
Name Change
Mt. Pisgah Baptist Church of Bloomington, November 2, 1865
 

Sabbath School instituted at 3:00 p.m.

Communion Service every three months
Association
Adopted Articles of Faith and Baptist Covenant of the Woodriver Colored Baptist Association
Location
The 1st church was located South Lee and Water Street. South eastside of Lee Street and South of the Nickel Plate Railroad tracks.

The framed building and land, cost $1,000.00 and was paid by subscriptions.
Relocation
The noise from the trains disturbed the service. Rev. Ernest Hail, purchased present location from Thomas Kerrick, for $400.00
Architect
Francis Pillsbury (from the flour family) designed this church
Builders
Negro men from Springfield built the church

Building started in 1915 under Rev Samuel H. Gipson, Pastor and cost $10,000
 
April 23, 1916, members marches from the old church to the new church
Basement
1945 the original wide board floor was replaced with concrete. All church debt was paid off under Rev. Herring.
Incorporation
Corporate name to be THE MT. PISGAH BAPTIST CHURCH name registered December 18, 1967, Recorded September 8, 1970
Renovation
1958, Church was completely remodeled under Pastor Leo Sneed and Henry L. Brown the chairman and supervisor of project.
Pastor
Thomas Reasoner was our first pastor at an annual salary of $400.00
Rev. Frank L. McSwain, Sr. is the 24th & current Pastor